Candidate Recommendation Committee

The MTA has a formal process for interviewing and evaluating candidates through its Candidate Recommendation Committee. The CRC consists of two MTA members elected from each of the state's nine congressional districts, as well as MTA's president, vice president and executive director-treasurer.

The CRC evaluates races for elective office and determines those for which it will convene candidate evaluation teams to review candidates for potential recommendations. If the committee convenes a CET for a particular race, candidates will be sent the MTA’s questionnaire. Once a completed questionnaire is returned, candidates may be invited to be interviewed by a team of MTA members who represent the locals and chapters in the affected legislative district. The candidate evaluation team then makes a recommendation to the CRC for its review and action. 

Committee Members

Brendan Sheran, CD 1

Tim Collins, CD 1

Bill Coleman, CD 2

Becky Harvey, CD 2

Adam Snodgrass, CD 3

Margaret Wong, CD 3

Claire Naughton, CD 4

Adeline Bee, CD 4

Alice Reilly, CD 5

Julia Norman, CD 5

Bonnie Page, CD 6

Kathy Meltsakos, CD6 (Vice Chair)

John Fitzgerald, CD 7

Bobby Travers, CD 7

Joe Herosy, CD 8

Kerry Costello, CD 8 (Chair)

Joseph O'Sullivan, CD 9

Beverly Saccocia, CD 9